School Safety and Security

Mission Statement:

To ensure the district wide safety and security of all of our staff/students/visitors within the boundaries of all of our districts six school buildings, transportation facilities and administrative building.  To plan, develop and constantly upgrade safety policies under the guidance of the Marple Newtown school board and the Superintendent of schools. To collaborate with all district administrative staff and local law enforcement when needed along with an open door policy to all students and staff when called upon for any type of assistance. 



District Safety Team:

1 Director of School Safety

  • Barry L. Williams

2 School Resource Police Officers:

  • Officer Jeff Johnson; Newtown Square Police Department: Assigned to both the Marple Newtown High School and Culbertson Elementary school.
  • Officer Dan Lazzari; Marple Township Police Department; Assigned to the Paxon Hollow Middle school along with Loomis, Russell and Worrall Elementary schools.

5 District employed security guards. 3 full time, 2 part time.

  • All five are scheduled as needed in our respective schools and also assigned to after hour events such as sporting events, band and theatre.


School Safety and Security Information:

If there are any questions related to school safety and security or if there is any such security concern that you would like to voice, please contact our Director of School Safety at  610-359-4200 x5600 or via email @  In case of any type emergency event, immediately call 911 or report an event using the district's Safe 2 Say program.


Safe 2 Say Program FAQs

  • MNSD launched the S2S Program in January 2019.
  • This program was implemented by parents of the victims of the Sandy Hook school shooting who decided that something had to be put in place where anyone, at any time, could forward any valid  concerns 24/7 in an anonymous format.
  • To date, we have received and handled 115 Safe To Say tips, most of which have been received anonymously via online submission.

If anyone has any additional questions on this program, our Director of School Safety can be reached via email at or at 610-359-4200 x5600.